Foundations of Information Security

Foundations of Information Security

by Jason Andress
November 2019 (Estimated), 380 pp.

Order now and get early access to the PDF ebook!
(What's Early Access?)
(Which chapters are available now?)

Get 30% off with the coupon code EARLYBIRD

Foundations of Information Security provides readers with fundamental knowledge of information security in both theoretical and practical aspects. Best selling author Jason Andress provides the basic knowledge needed to understand the key concepts of confidentiality, integrity, and availability, and then dives into practical applications of these ideas in the areas of operational, physical, network, application, and operating system security.

Each chapter explores one main security concept, lists scenarios in which the concept is applicable, and discusses the implementation of that concept in detail, often by going over rival models or strategies. Readers will come away with a sense of what types of assets need protecting, what kinds of risks exist, and what kinds of defensive measures can be taken.

Author Bio 

Jason Andress (CISSP, ISSAP, CISM, GPEN) is a seasoned security professional with a depth of experience in both the academic and business worlds. Presently he carries out information security oversight duties, performing penetration testing, risk assessment, and compliance functions to ensure that critical assets are protected. Jason has taught undergraduate and graduate security course since 2005 and holds a doctorate in computer science, researching in the area of data protection. He has authored several publications and books, writing on topics including data security, network security, penetration testing, and digital forensics.

Table of contents 

Now Available in Early Access!


Chapter 1: What is Information Security? (AVAILABLE NOW!)
Chapter 2: Indentification and Authentication (AVAILABLE NOW!)
Chapter 3: Authorization and Access Control (AVAILABLE NOW!)
Chapter 4: Auditing and Accountability (AVAILABLE NOW!)
Chapter 5: Cryptography
Chapter 6: Compliance, Laws, and Regulations
Chapter 7: Operations Security
Chapter 8: Human Element Security
Chapter 9: Physical Security
Chapter 10: Network Security
Chapter 11: Operating System Security
Chapter 12: Mobile, Embedded, and Internet of Things Security
Chapter 13: Application Security
Chapter 14: Assessing Security